Moving Forward

Cross-posted from PookiePots.com

It’s been frustrating to have to delay formal launch of this site, but I’ve decided to start updating as often as I can just to get some of this content out of my head and away from my to-do list. As some of you know, the Great Facebook Shit Show of 2015 (linky-poos to the storytale) seriously derailed my professional life in a big way, costing me countless hours of scrambling to accommodate my clients and get a handle on their social media accounts and websites after the fall of Pookie McNoodles.

I knew when they really deleted it once and for all because of the automated-email storm that laid waste to my inbox. C’est la vie. No use crying over spilled milk. More idioms that highlight the frustration of powerlessness in the face of faceless, giant oppression.

Facebook has officially ruled that my account was in violation and has deleted the content. Without content to save, I’m not going to go crazy trying to battle the behemoth. But this: Facebook deleted all my fans and friends, many of whom were specifically interested in the topics I’ll be posting here. That’s ok. Spilled milk. Breathe in, breathe out. Move forward.

Please think about this, though: Do you want your social media account in the hands of the NSA? Do you want facebook to be able to ask you for government ID, utility bills, marriage certificates, and more? I really want you to start thinking about your privacy, because we’re losing it, and we’re losing it quickly…and a lot of you don’t care. I didn’t care enough. Now I do.

Better late than never? Any other dumb expressions about procrastination and too-little-too-late scenarios you may know, go ahead and think it here. I’m out of drivel. But I’m talking with activists at EFF.org now who are helping me take action on behalf of all of us, and in the process, helping me feel a little less powerless and helpless.

That NSA stuff, by the way — it’s not some conspiracy theorist shit. This is happening. There’s a lot of documentation from reputable sources. Most people don’t seem to care, but that doesn’t mean it’s not real.

It’s relevant to you, even if you don’t realize it yet.

I’m not gonna lie – it’s been hard. It’s been heartbreaking. Forward, though. Through it all, we have been baking, photographing, filming, editing, and I’ve been trying to play catch-up on the issues Facebook caused, deal with my business, take on new clients, take care of my health, and live my life. It’s not all bad. It’s not even mostly bad. It’s just taking more time than I expected to recover.

DJ Tytron and I have been filming a series in which we examine leafly.com’s descriptions of specific strains, find them, and smoke them. Stay tuned for a glut of those videos when I get around to editing us into looking like we’re way cooler than we are.

In closing, since this should have some relevance to marijuana, no matter how thin, I present you with this sweet slideshow of gorgeous Cambodian food for to make you salivate whilst smoking.

Bon fumee!

LOOK AT THESE FOODS LOOK AT THEM NOW.

Leave a Reply

